What's currently available

Online catalogue
This includes the majority of our printed collection items and some freely available electronic resources. Please note this only includes records up to October 2023 and we will not be adding new records for the time being.

Incunabula Short Title Catalogue

British National Bibliography (BNB)
Published as linked data

English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
Explore the new beta version of the English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) hosted by the Consortium of European Research Libraries (CERL) to search around 500,000 records of works printed in the English-speaking world before 1801.

Archives and Manuscripts catalogue 
Printed catalogues and handlists are available in our Reading Rooms, or you can also try searching the National Archives Discovery catalogue and filtering by “Other archives only”.
Work underway to restore in 2025

Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts

Catalogue of Photographically Illustrated Books

Evanion catalogue

Register of Preservation Surrogates
A microfiche version is available, please ask our team for help

Sloane Printed Books catalogue

Sounds catalogue
Work underway to restore in 2025

Electoral registers
Several are searchable through printed catalogues and handlists, please contact us or speak to teams in the Reading Rooms. Find out more in our guide.

Microfilm and microfiche 
Please check with the Reference team for further details about access

Parliamentary papers
Several are searchable through printed catalogues and handlists, please contact us or speak to teams in the Reading Rooms

Physical archives
Several are searchable through printed catalogues and handlists, please contact us or speak to teams in the Reading Rooms. You can find some of our collections using the National Archives Discovery catalogue and filtering by “Other archives only.”

Physical manuscripts
Several are searchable through printed catalogues and handlists, please contact us or speak to teams in the Reading Rooms. You can find some of our collections using the National Archives Discovery catalogue and filtering by “Other archives only.”

Printed newspapers
These are included in our online catalogue. You can consult hard copy newspapers in our Newsroom in London, and our Boston Spa Reading Room in Yorkshire. Where possible we will provide the requested newspaper on microfilm, as some of our collection is restricted due to its fragile state.

Printed books
The majority is included in the online catalogue

Printed journals and serials
The majority is included in the online catalogue

Printed maps
The majority is included in the online catalogue

Printed music scores
The majority is included in the online catalogue

Rare books
The majority is included in the online catalogue

Visual arts content
Some available. Please contact us to make an appointment

Digitised manuscripts
Over 1,000 available online, with more to come

Digitised books
Over 700,000 digitised books from our collection are available on Google books. Find out more in our guide.

Endangered Archives Programme

Sound collections
Some of our audio collections can be accessed onsite in St Pancras by making an appointment. Please contact us so we can help you identify what you need.

The British Newspaper Archive
You can access nearly 90 million pages of digitised newspapers for free on your own device when you’re in our Reading Rooms. Register for the BNA and connect to our WiFi to access.

Qatar Digital Library

International Dunhuang Programme

Electronic Legal Deposit (NPLD)
The National Libraries of Wales and Scotland, the Bodleian Libraries, Cambridge University Library and the Library of Trinity College Dublin are now providing access to material deposited before October 2023 via an interim platform, which can be used onsite in their reading rooms.
British Library Readers can apply for a free Reader Pass to access this content onsite at one of these libraries, please check the instructions for the library you need before you visit.
This is currently unavailable in the British Library Reading Rooms.

Born digital content

Broadcast news

Business and Management Portal

Databases and eresources
Work underway to restore in 2025

Database of Bookbindings
Selected images are on Wikimedia commons. Find out more in our guide.

Database of Italian Academies  

E-books
Work underway to restore in 2025

Electronic Table of Contents (ETOC)  

Social Welfare Portal  

India Office Family History Search   

Microform Research Collections 

Online journal articles and serials 
Work underway to restore in 2025 

Open Access content in the catalogue   

National Radio Archive content

Social Welfare Portal  

Sounds website

Video and moving image content

Web Archive
Work underway to restore in 2025

Requesting collection items, including advance requests.
Please use our online collection item request form, located on the online catalogue homepage.

Contact the Reference team if you would like to confirm your item’s availability and restrictions before you submit your requests. 

Enquiries
Our team can answer your questions and help you find accurate and relevant information. You can speak to us in the Reading Rooms, send us a message at any time, or speak to us instantly on Chat, open Monday to Friday 10.00 - 17.00 

Adaptive technology
Please speak to a member of staff for assistance or contact accessibility@bl.uk

CD-Rom access
This includes Chemical Abstracts on CD-Rom

Printing and scanning facilities
Work underway to restore in 2025

Reading Room PCs
Work underway to restore in 2025

British Library On Demand  
An online service for existing business accounts

Images Online
Images of collection items to purchase

ISNI and ISSN services 
Please contact us at isni@bl.uk and issn-uk@bl.uk

MARC and ISIL 
Please contact us at uk-isilmarc@bl.uk

Research guides

Research repository

Teaching and learning resources
Some available using Padlet

WiFi  
Free to use, no need to register

Bibliographic Retrieval Service

Ethos
Work underway to restore in 2025

Imaging services and digitisation

My Reading Room Requests  
Check the status of your item orders by contacting itemrequests@bl.uk

My Workspace