We have a wide collection of e-resources and databases. Following a cyber-attack in October 2023 these are not available at the moment.
Until these are reinstated, here is a list of useful resources which can be accessed for free:
| Academica Sinica’s Digital Atlas | Includes 120 antiquarian Chinese maps from the British Library. |
| ArtUK | Includes a subset for the British Library's collections including India Office oil paintings and sculptures. |
| BACSA (British Association for Cemeteries in South Asia) | The BACSA cemetery archive has been deposited at the British Library as part of the India Office Private Papers but a burials database and index to cemeteries are available online. |
| BL Images Online | Find and buy images from our unique collections on our images online site. |
| British Library Shared Research Repository | Open access repository for the research produced by staff and research associates of the British Library. |
| FIBIS (Families in British India Society) | The FIBIS database includes transcriptions from various India Office Records and printed sources. |
| Flickr | Images from the British Library’s printed and manuscript collections. |
| Google Books | Access over 700,000 digitised books from the British Library. Use this filtered search to find books from our collection. |
| Internet Archive | Large collection of digitised books, including many British Museum and India Office printed catalogues of books and manuscripts. |
| Jainpedia | Includes digitised Jain manuscripts from the British Library. |
| JACAR (Japan Center for Asian Historical Records) | Includes 235 Japanese and Chinese prints of the Sino-Japanese War from the British Library. |
| Ktiv | Manuscript Database of the National Library of Israel including all digitised Hebrew manuscripts from the British Library. |
| Library of Congress |
Includes digitised Southeast Asian manuscripts from the British Library. |
| Qatar Digital Library | Includes digitised India Office Records, Private Papers, photographs and maps, as well as digitised Arabic manuscripts from the British Library. |
| Singapore National Library Board | Digitised Malay manuscripts and Qur'ans, papers of Sir Stamford Raffles, and the accounts by Colin Mackenzie on Java held at the British Library. |
| Southeast Asia Digital Library | Includes a collection of digitised rare books from Southeast Asia held at the British Library. |
| Union Catalogue Database of Japanese Texts | Includes 56 digitised items from the British Library. |
|
William Henry Fox Talbot, Catalogue Raisonné
|
Includes digitised early photographs from the British Library. |