Unfortunately, our subscribed electronic resources are still unavailable. However we have some resources that you might find useful:
Barbican Music Library (free membership): lending library for music scores, reference books and periodicals, CDs/DVDs as well as onsite access to electronic resources and piano facilities.
BBC Programme Index can assist with finding programme titles and dates to request BBC Archive material.
The BBC Written Archives Centre contains the working papers of the BBC since it was founded in 1922. The collection includes material such as scripts, letters and BBC publications.
The British Film Institute holds the national archive for film and television. Please contact the BFI Archive for film and television requests, as the British Library’s moving image material is currently unavailable following a cyber-attack. The BFI also has a BFI Replay On-Demand service, a free video-on-demand service with thousands of digitised videos and television programmes from the collections of the BFI National Archive and partner UK Regions and Nations Film Archives. Another good source for film is the BFI free player and other curated collections from BFI like Britain on Film.
The Imperial War Museum Sound Archive has an extensive collection of war recordings, including BBC material.
The Internet Archive is a free resource that has useful links to locate many audio-visual collections. It also supports the Wayback Machine, which can provide access to archived webpages. Some of our previous webpages (such sound collection guides, informational pages from the previous Sounds website and collection blogs) can be accessed via the Wayback Machine as read-only resources. Please note no audio will be playable from the archived pages.
SOAS University Music Department hold material relating to World and Traditional Music studies, please refer to their online audio-visual collection.
The True Echoes project is centred on 250 digitised wax cylinder recordings from the British Library Sound Archive. The wax cylinder collections include recordings made in Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, New Caledonia and the Torres Strait Islands in Australia between 1898 and 1924.