This collection is usually included in our online Archives and Manuscripts catalogue. We’re working on bringing this back in 2025. In the meantime, please use this guide to finding and requesting archives and manuscript material at the moment.
Please note none of these collections can be consulted in our Boston Spa Reading Room.
Identify the items you would like to consult
Following a cyber-attack, we don’t currently have an online catalogue for our Manuscripts and Archives collections. You can find these collections using printed catalogues and indices in our Manuscripts Reading Room (Floor 2), Asian & African Studies Reading Room (Floor 3) and Rare Books & Music Reading Room (Floor 1) in St Pancras.
Alternatively, you can also discover some of our manuscript collections using the National Archives Discovery catalogue and filtering by “Other archives only” or by using archive.org. If you need help finding manuscript materials before you visit, please contact our Reference team.
Place a request
You will need a specific shelfmark to order any items. To place a request for a manuscript, please use our online collection item request form, located on the library’s online catalogue homepage. Please contact the Reference team if you would like to confirm your item’s availability and restrictions before you submit your requests.
To request items, you will need a Reader Pass issued after 21 March 2024. Please visit How to Get a Reader Pass on our website for more information.
Complete your Reader details
To complete the form, ensure that you have entered the exact details you used to register for your Reader Pass, including a valid email address, so we can contact you with any updates. If your details don't match our database, we won't be able to process your request.
Include the item information where prompted on the request form. You must enter the item’s shelfmark correctly, including the collection name (e.g. “Add MS 12345” or “Cotton MS Nero E V”), so we can correctly identify and retrieve the item for you.
If you’re not sure what the shelfmark looks like you can use this table, which sets out the ordering format for different collections. You will need to include both the stem and number in the shelfmark box.
Please don’t put dates, titles, ISBN numbers, or any other information in this shelfmark box.
Please note you can only submit one item request per form, with a maximum of four requests for western manuscripts ordered to the Manuscripts Reading Room live at any one time.
Enter when you would like to see the item
After you are issued a Reader Pass, you can submit requests up to 28 days in advance.
Requests for same-day delivery close at 15.45. Any requests submitted after this time will be processed the next working day. Any requests made on the day should be delivered to the Reading Rooms within 70 minutes.
Select the Reading Room you’d like to use
Manuscripts written in Western languages (e.g. English, Spanish, Latin, Greek) or concerning Western topics can only be viewed in the Manuscripts Reading Room.
Manuscripts written in Asian and African languages (e.g. Arabic, Ethiopian, Hebrew, Persian) or concerning topics in Asia and Africa (e.g. India Office Records) can only be consulted in the Asian & African Studies Reading Room. We may need to redirect your request if we can’t deliver the item to your chosen reading room.
Most music manuscripts must be consulted in the Rare Books & Music Reading Room.
What happens next
After you have submitted your request form, you will receive a confirmation email to let you know if your request has been accepted. If there are any issues, you can contact our team at itemrequests@bl.uk for help. Please note that even if your request is accepted, we cannot guarantee availability.
To check the status of your request, please contact itemrequests@bl.uk. You can’t check this online yourself at the moment.
When you visit the Library on the day you requested your items to be delivered, put your belongings in our lockers and bring anything you need, like your laptop and a pencil, to the Reading Room.
When you arrive in the Reading Room, you’ll need to show your Reader Pass to Security then visit the Issue Desk to collect your item.
The Issue Desk team will direct you where to sit. Please ask us if you need any help while you’re here.
To continue using the material you have ordered, we can reserve your items for up to three working days. It may be possible to extend the reservation period, please speak to a member of our team in the Reading Room for help with this.