Following a cyber-attack in October 2023, many of our e-resources and online databases are currently unavailable.
Until these are reinstated, here is a list of useful resources which can be accessed for free:
|
1914-1918 Online International Encyclopedia of the First World War |
An open-source encyclopedia on the First World War, edited and written by more than 1,200 contributors from over 50 countries. Entries can be browsed by theme and by region. |
|
A platform for sharing academic research papers with millions of people across the world for free. |
|
|
Explore Artstor's digital library of images, videos, documents, and audio files. |
|
|
The British Library Research Repository is an open access repository for the research produced by staff and research associates of the British Library. |
|
|
Details of officers who served in the British Army, Navy and Air Force in the First and Second World Wars. Part of the National Library of Scotland's Digital Gallery. |
|
|
CORE aggregates content - primarily journal articles - from worldwide higher education and research organisations, and provides a search interface. As of March 2020 CORE contained records of 180 million freely available publications from around 9000 repositories. |
|
|
Discover open access theses from nearly 600 universities in 29 European countries. |
|
|
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available. |
|
|
Contains open access journals from all countries and in all languages. |
|
|
Provides access to millions of items from providing institutions across Europe. Discover artworks, books, music, and videos on art, newspapers, archaeology, fashion, science, sport, and much more. |
|
|
Access over 700,000 digitised books from the British Library. |
|
| HathiTrust Digital Library | Provides free access to millions of digitised books and publications. |
|
The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 2.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account |
|
| JSTOR | Anyone can sign up for a free JStor account. Creating an account gives access to 100 free articles per month from their range of journal articles, books, images and primary sources in 75 disciplines. |
|
Union catalogue of books, periodicals and e-resources held in academic and research libraries in the UK and Ireland. Records in Library Hub Discover may provide further information about our collection items than our interim catalogue at the moment. |
|
| National Archives Discovery | Holds more than 37 million descriptions of records held by The National Archives and more than 3,500 archives across the country. Includes records for some archives and manuscripts held at the British Library. |
| Open Edition | Provides Open Access books and journals across a range of disciplines. |
|
A library of over 60,000 free eBooks (mostly literary works published before 1924). |
|
|
The Public Books Database provides a useful guide to the hundreds of books which have been made open access by university presses, primarily, although not exclusively, in the US. |
|
|
Union catalogue created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions in more than 80 countries worldwide. |